Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before I drop all the money for my lift I want to see if I can get help. Any one in tucson capable of installing the zone 5 for a reasonable price? Desert rat of tucson wants 2400 for the lift,drop bearer,spacers and install. Is that worth it or can someone on here actually do it cheaper. I'm not a mechanic but mechanically inclined. By no means could I weld and cut the frame but can assist. What do you all think? Should I just drop the money cause I want this so bad, just lookin to save a few bucks. I'm running spacers because of the rw wheels until I save up for some 20s.

·
Registered
507 Posts
That's about normal for any lift that size1400 for lift and about 1000 on labor usually, good luck!

·
Registered
219 Posts
Is your truck a 4x4 or a 2wd? If you're mechanically inclined I'm sure installing it won't be too hard. It's not usually a one man job so you'd need some help. The hardest part will be swapping the spindles. If you have use of a lift that would be a plus! But minimum you'd need is good floor jack and some solid jack stands, with a good set of tools.

But installation of a lift sin't beyond the average DIY'er. Just take your time, and double check things as you go.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ya it's a 4x4. The scariest part for me is hacking up the crossmember. I can use a lift and got a buddy that can lend a hand. Neither of us however can weld.

·
Registered
219 Posts
Ya it's a 4x4. The scariest part for me is hacking up the crossmember. I can use a lift and got a buddy that can lend a hand. Neither of us however can weld.
No real need to weld. The welding is to cap the cut ends of the old cross member. Which the way I see it. it will look better but it will create a pocket to collect water and rust.