Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2004 Tundra TRD sr5 access cab with the towing package. I am new to the camping world, as a matter of fact, we just bought our first camper last night, a 2009 r-pod r-175. I am trying to do some reading and figure out if I will need a generator or not. We will probably be doing 2 night camping trips, with the longest being a 4-5 day hunting trip this fall. We only have one battery right now, but I would like to purchase another one. My question is, will I just be able to hook my camper up to the truck and let it run for a while to bring the battery charge back up, or is my truck not equipped with the right equipment to do this. Thanks.

·
Registered
7,071 Posts
You would have to take a multi-meter back to the trailer connection on your truck and test all the pins in the 7 pin plug. I'm not sure if any of them supply auxiliary power anymore or if that's something that has to be hooked up. I know in my Ranger and my F-250 it was setup to trickle charge the trailer batteries it was very slow doing it though so I wouldn't count on that as a sole means of charging your trailer batteries, its not setup to charge them from a discharged state only to really just maintain them as you are driving.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok, everything I have read says basically the same thing. I was just hoping to avoid spending an extra few hundred dollars right now. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Retired
10,869 Posts
The connector will trickle charge it and take forever but you can hook jumper cables to the truck and camper for a faster charge

·
Registered
7,071 Posts
You might look into a solar panel to place on the top of your trailer to help maintain the trailer batteries, that may be a much faster charge rate than the trickle charge it receives from the tow vehicle.

·
Retired
10,869 Posts