Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks, I have been considering a FWC Hawk pop up truck camper for my 2012 Double Cab 4.6 Tundra. Working on the assumption that my truck had a payload capacity of 1515 lbs and the Hawk camper weighed in at just under 1,000 lbs I felt that the combination would work out plus I have seen photos of quite a few Tundras with these campers on them. Anyhow, the other day I looked at the info plate on the B pillar of my truck and it states " The combined weight of occupants and cargo should never exceed 1255 lbs". Now I'm a little confused. Am I missing something here? Just yesterday I saw a Toyota chart online that should the payload of my truck as 1515 to 1640 lbs or thereabouts (I assume the lower figure is for the 4.6, higher for 5.8?)
Anyhow, any input is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Alan

·
Premium Member
436 Posts
GCVWR is the number specifically for that truck based on it's build when it roll off the line. So, 1255 your number.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
GCVWR is the number specifically for that truck based on it's build when it roll off the line. So, 1255 your number.
Shoot, that's what I was afraid of. Might have to look at getting another truck, maybe a new Tundra, at least that should give me the 1515 - 1640 range.
Thanks for your response.

·
Premium Member
436 Posts
Whatever truck you choose, I would advise only using advertised numbers as a starting point. Always go straight to the door sticker

·
Registered
32 Posts