Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 20 of 150 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First things first, it's not low tire pressure! :banghead:

I just had my winter tires mounted on my limited wheels with new tire pressure sensors, and everything was fine until I get this warning light. Do I have to 'calibrate' them or something? I'm new to the TPS things and need some more info..

I also found the button under the dash, does this calibrate it? What do I do???

·
F&@k Y'all, I'm from Texas
13,742 Posts
You have to program the new TPMS codes into the ECU. You will have to do that each time you change the wheels.

·
Premium Member
6,835 Posts
You have to program the new TPMS codes into the ECU. You will have to do that each time you change the wheels.
you mean the dealer has to do it :p

·
F&@k Y'all, I'm from Texas
13,742 Posts
you mean the dealer has to do it :p
Not necessarily. You can pay to access the program and do it yourself with a laptop. Not cheap. But over time, probably cheaper than going to the dealer.

·
Premium Member
6,835 Posts
Not necessarily. You can pay to access the program and do it yourself with a laptop. Not cheap. But over time, probably cheaper than going to the dealer.
yeah I remember TonySpin was talking about that program.

·
Premium Member
6,169 Posts
I installed the resistor string and diode. Less than $3 and no light...ever.
I cut the blue wire, installed the resistor/diode string to the blue wire with a butt conmnector, then used a 3M Scotch-Lock to connect the blue wire to the yellow wire that feeds voltage to the TPMS module. Based on input from dressed2kill, I need to clarify that the blue wire we cut is the lighter pale blue/green wire. There is a deeper blue wire present, but we are working with the pale blue-green wire. Thanks for the info, dressed2kill.

Here are BStevens' original pics from the thread on TS...

Here's a pic of the packages for the actual parts I used to complete this mod...

Attachments

·