Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
TPMS cost?

I'm new to this whole TPMS thing. I have a 2017 DC SR5 with the steel wheels, and am thinking about picking up some of the 18" TRD wheels from Craigslist. I assume anything I get off CL will have the OEM TPMS sensors removed, and I understand the sensors from my steel wheels aren't compatible with the alloys.

What should I expect to pay for replacement TPMS sensors? Is this a dealer only thing, or is it something any tire shop can do?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I'm new to this whole TPMS thing. I have a 2017 DC SR5 with the steel wheels, and am thinking about picking up some of the 18" TRD wheels from Craigslist. I assume anything I get off CL will have the OEM TPMS sensors removed, and I understand the sensors from my steel wheels aren't compatible with the alloys.

What should I expect to pay for replacement TPMS sensors? Is this a dealer only thing, or is it something any tire shop can do?
That's not always true. I had discount tire install my alloys and they used the tpms from my stock tires.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
I left them off, but I've been thinking of getting aftermarkets that screw onto the cap and have a solar powered head unit. ~$80 a set.

Stock TPMS suck. They aren't adjustable, no audible alarm, and they don't show you the actual pressure.

Reactions: Mr. Creosote

·
Cereal Killer
20,307 Posts
When they first came out they cost as much as replacement rims, so I did the pressurized pipe thing. These days they are so cheap and long lasting I would just install them and let them run as they are supposed to.

·
Registered
36 Posts

·
Registered
668 Posts
That's not always true. I had discount tire install my alloys and they used the tpms from my stock tires.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk