Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For anyone contemplating what size tires to go with a 3/1:

Finally got the 275/65 (34.1x10.8) nitto grapplers mounted today on my 20" XD Boss rims. I had toyo at's on order but they were delayed another 3 weeks and I have my stock wheels sold so I called discount and got the Nittos. This is my first time trying the brand, we'll see how they do. I truly believe that this is the best and the biggest size tire/rim combo that should be put on trucks with a 3/1 kit. I had a Toytec ultimate 3/1 kit put on a week ago. There is a finger wiggle room all around the tire when the wheels are cranked both directions and they sit perfect with the side of the truck, no fender flares needed. I never understood why people went with 305s in similar diameters, I just don't like the look of the too wide tire and I don't like spraying the sides of the truck with mud. The gearing also didn't get too far out of whack, in fact I think I like it a little better. Besides getting to join the super exclusive monster truck club, I don't see why anyone would put 35s on these things unless you plan on putting serious money into beefing up everything else to handle it.
When I got home my excitement motivated me to debadge the truck, something I was dreading but I have always done it to my GMs. Debadging a Toyota is way easier than any gm I've ever done.
I couldn't be happier with the truck, I've only had it for a few weeks and 700 miles. Now I can start to enjoy it!

Next up is a supercharger!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Not my favorite color Toyota makes - but with the black wheels and the brown it looks extra sharp! NICE WORK!

·
Registered
408 Posts
they sit perfect with the side of the truck, no fender flares needed. I never understood why people went with 305s in similar diameters, I just don't like the look of the too wide tire