Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New Tundra owner here! but, not new to high performance Audio/Video.

I currently work in the Home A/V industry, and have a deep passion for quality sound systems. BUT, like most people, I have to consider budget. :)

I had a fantastic Alpine Imprint setup in my last truck, but I am thinking about doing things a little differently this time.

Here is the list of things that I am set on.

- Stock head unit. I have the normal setup.. Not JBL.
- JBL MS-8. I think this will satisfy my needs.
- Alpine PDX-5 Amp. (leftover from another project)
- One (1) Pioneer ib-Flat 12" in a sealed box.
- Keeping the speakers in the factory locations. (Dash, Doors) I dont want to buy A-pillars right now, but I am open to consider it.

Here is what I need help with.

- Speakers. I think I want to use Dayton Audio.. Great performance/price. But, what sizes? At first, i thought about tweeters in dash, 6.5" mids in front doors, and 8" midbass in Rear doors.. but, I dont have any experience with this type of setup. (I dont care about the Rear passengers experience.)
- Setup. Would it be alright if i ran all three dash speakers off the MS-8 internal amps, and use the PDX-5 to power the mids in the doors plus the sub?

I will be using RAAM mat to treat all the sheet metal.

Let me know your opinions!
THANKS

·
Registered
383 Posts
I believe the largest speakers the front and rear doors can handle are 6 3/4". I just received 2 pair of Kicker 6 3/4" speakers and 4 sheets of Dynamat for my doors. I'm going to add these to the factory system (non-JBL) in the next week or so.

Reactions: Surfer J

·
Registered
1,009 Posts