Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am by no means an expert as this was my first sub woofer install on my own. Thought I'd share the experience and make up a brief tutorial for other people thinking the same. This is my way of giving back for all the help you guys have given me throughout my process.

Equipment:
-Two 10" Kicker Comp RT subs
-Powerbass Amplifier
-DB Links 4 gauge Amp Kit (power, ground, remote wire, RCA, fuse, speaker wire, heat shield, various gromets for the wires.)
-Sub box upwards firing
-PAC 2 channel line output converter (LOC)
-Various screws and some wire connectors for splices

Instructions:
1. I ran the power gauge from the battery to a standalone fuse where I mounted on top of the fuse box. Then ran the power cord through the firewall (driver side just left of the E-brake) and underneath the plastic all the way back to my amp. The plastics all snap off fairly easy.

2. Next I had to install the LOC. I took the stock head unit out so I could find the 2 door speakers I needed (I used my rear speakers, its a 6 prong on the far right if you are looking at the back of the head unit. Left rear speaker will be yellow +, black -, right rear will be red +, white -). I spliced the LOC into those wires respectively.

3. I ran the RCA cables from the other end of the LOC down underneath the dash and back to the amp.

4. I took the remote wire and spliced it into the power side of the cigarette lighter (this will be the grey wire). Then ran that down the dash and into the amp. (this tells the amp to turn on and off when your car is either on or off).

5. To ground the amp, I took out the jack, sanded down to bare metal, and drilled a self tapping screw with the the ground cable. (Ensure you have a good grounding spot because this will easily cause the system not to work).

6. I wired the subs in series, not parallel. (this will depend on the type of amp you are running).