1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18' CrewMax TRD Offroad
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi..there!
I am new to towing and hauling ....
This week I want to load soil ... I did last week once ... I was loaded in the bed 1340 lb of soil..while specs are stated that bed limit is 1200 lb ..and I turn the Tow Haul button ON... just in case ..
It's a 18 CrewMax Trdoff road..
So this week I planing to do same ... but is it necessary to use this features???
And do I need change tire pressure???
I haven't change my tire pressure while I was hauling last week ..and my truck did well..
Tires are
MICHELIN defender LTX m/s..
Ant thoughts ???

·
Registered
674 Posts
You don not have to use tow/haul mode but it will give you a different transmission program that will hold a shift longer allowing more RPS to build prior to shifting. You are running great tires and give us some information about them but not enough to inform you of any specific air pressure. Generically the answer is yes, add air (PSI) pounds per square inch.

You need to read the side wall of the tire and see what the maximum PSI is for a rated load. If you are running a (p) passenger car rated tire you will want to put the maximum amount of PSI in the tires. A (p) rated tire is what comes on most 1/2 ton trucks. If you are running (LT) light truck tires with an (E) rating the amount of air will vary. Again read the side wall. The amount of PSI will vary based on the tire size with LTs. Do not over inflate. Yes you were over loaded it happens some times. Drive slower and be careful, the load on the rear axle can make the steering on the front wheels feel light with a tendency not to want to turn. Be careful.

Reactions: Alex86

·
Registered
674 Posts
As far as specs says ..its a SL load index ..
2750 lb max load
44 max psi
So when loading heavy you need 44 psi in the tires.

·
Registered
674 Posts