Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this forum. Actually it's the first forum I've ever joined so thank you for having me.

I AM NOT A MECHANIC BUT I DO FOLLOW DIRECTIONS WELL. LATELY ALL MY DIRECTION HAS COME FROM YOUTUBE. I have a 2007 SR5 5.7L. I have several issues but the immediate issue that I need to be resolved is it running hot. A few weeks ago the radiator burst on me. The plastic around the top of the radiator shattered. So I replaced the radiator and within 2 miles the truck started running hot. I thought thermostat so I changed it and it didn't fix the problem. Next I changed the water pump and that didn't work either. Everything seems to be working fine while it's idling but after about 15 minutes of idling and the occasional reving up the motor to around 2500RPM, the temp starts rising. Is there a blockage in the coolant lines? Maybe air in the lines? Or something worse. Please help. The other issues are the transmission solenoids. It will not shift out of 4th gear. I have to manually shift gears and I only have gears 1-4. Also it will not go into 4WD. I believe it is the actuator motor but not sure. Thanks!

·
Registered
13,646 Posts
Fan clutch could be failing.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The fan seems to be working fine. When I remove the radiator cap the coolant bubbles. Does this indicate air in the coolant lines? When I crank it struggled to turn over like it's gurgling.

·
Registered
13,646 Posts
When a fan clutch fails, it still spins, just it doesn't lock up properly to spin faster when needed.

However, that doesn't seem like your issue with the info you just added.

Bubbling coolant is typically an indicator of a blown head gasket. The struggling to crank, and gurgling could be the cylinders filling with coolant after you shut it off.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5