Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading this thread in the Release/Pricing sub-forum, and really appreciated all of the advice given. I do have a question, though. It seems like much of the advice was geared toward negotiating on new vehicles. When buying a used vehicle, would you also employ the strategy of contacting several dealers, telling them what you want and at what price, and have them work against each other?

For example, would I email 3-4 Toyota dealerships and tell them that I am looking for a 2007 and up DC with less than 50,000 miles, the 5.7, short box, steering wheel controls, and bucket seats in either Blue, Silver, or Pyrite Mica for $19,000 out the door? Is this strategy used often? I've always bought private party or from a no-haggle lot like Carmax, so I'm new to dealing with traditional dealerships with the intent to buy.

I apologize if this should be in another forum, but there seems to be a lot more traffic here, and it seems like a general enough question. TIA!

·
Registered
244 Posts
that concept of putting them against each other really wont work here , most dealerships will say mine is better bc it has , a carfax that is clean , was driven by an old lady , has custom wheels , lifted , we offfer a lifetime warranty , ours is extra clean , and so forth , being the 2007 is almost 7 years old financing is not going to be the best compared to a newer , unless you just pay with cash. personally I only buy new cars from private owners. I find they are more honest , have all the documentation for work and maintenance and are willing to work with u if you have a fistful of cash. I assume you are looking to pay around 16,500 to 17,000 for the truck . I would start at autotrader and be very specific and see what is out there . Good Luck

·
Registered
219 Posts
Just check autotrader and craigslist yourself IMO...