Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Truck: 2015 Tundra SR5, 5.7L

Since new, I have always had the dealer do the oil changes. Every change has been full synthetic 0w20

I was going to do it myself this weekend for the first time, but the cost for me to do it myself is actually MORE expensive than going to the dealer. Crazy world. They must get a killer deal on oil... Anyways...

Guy I spoke with asked if I wanted full synthetic or regular oil, but then said you should NOT go from using Synthetic back to regular oil. Once you go Synthetic, you should never go back. I have NEVER heard this before.

SO, what is everyone running? Synthetic? Blend? Regular?

Any issues going back to regular oil?

(I have to say, that if Toyota is calling for regular oil, I am a little pissed I have been paying for synthetic for the past 6 years!)

Edit: I just checked the owners manual. Says nothing about Synthetic oil being required. So whoever helped me back in 2015 when I had my first oil change F'd up, lied, scammed, or whatever. They are long gone now, as is management, so nobody to really complain to. Oh well. Live and learn.

·
Registered
13,787 Posts
My 2017 calls for 0-20 oil. I could not find a non synthetic, or synthetic "Blend" in 0-20 in 2017. There are blends out now, and even a conventional that I found.

However, with that said, I use Amsoil. I also used Amsoil in my 2010. I run once a year or 10k miles, whichever comes first. I also use Amsoil's 15k mile filter.