Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting ready to change the oil in my 17 5.6L CrewMax. The last 2 time I changed the oil I mad one hell of a mess. How do you keep the oil from hitting the oil pan and spraying out all over the place? I've been changing my own oil for 30 years now and have never seen oil come out of there like it does with the tundra. Is there a different pan for collecting oil I should use? Is there some sort of shield for the passenger wheel? Any help would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
You and me both. I hold the pan up high to the drain plug to try and minimize splashing. So much oil comes out so quickly my pan cant even drain into the sump as it fills.

·
Registered
261 Posts
I've come back to changing my own after many years of taking the vehicles to oil change places. Been doing my own again for about seven years; first on my 2000 Tundra with the 4.7L, and now on my 2015 with the 5.7L.

I agree that the design of the Tundras makes it a messy job. I never was able to get the oil filter off on my 2000 without getting old oil puddling on top of the skid plate and then dripping onto the garage floor/driveway. On my 2015, I had to adjust how I was doing things to make it reasonably efficient and clean.

First, I have a large sheet metal pan I slide under the truck to catch errant drips that don't end up the drain pan.

Second, I use a Fumoto valve on the drain plug, and slip a plastic drain tube over the end of the valve hook to direct the old oil into a drain pan. The Fumoto makes it easy to reach under the truck and begin the draining process. It's a bit slower than pulling the regular plug and letting it flow, but it also doesn't splash all over the place.

Third, I use a MotivX filter drain tool to drain oil from the filter housing before removal.

·
Registered
737 Posts
yeah Fomoto valves are a lil bit slower BUT SOOO NICE .