Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 15' 5.7l. I haul cars to the drag strip a couple times a year. Now that the major highways where I live are 70mph now. The trailer plus car I haul I would safely say around 5k pound total. I'm new to towing as this is my first truck so forgive me if I did/say something dumb. I would put the truck in cruise at 75mph but then when any slight incline on the road the truck would shift into overdrive or down shift don't know the differnce. Even at 70mph it does it also. But if I go 65mph it barley does it. Question is am I hurting the truck but doing so?

·
Registered
161 Posts
It is unlocking the tourque convertor, allowing it to slip which can cause high trans temps. Not good for longevity of the trans. Use the tow-haul button and if it is hilly terrain use s mode and manually shift staying in 4th or 5th gear. Slow down a bit, no need to tow @ 70 or above, most trailer tires arent rated for it.

·
Registered
964 Posts
Most wouldn't advise using cruise control while towing. You are piloting the vehicle, not the computer - it just controls how much fuel gets dumped in to the motor, when it blows up, and what gear your transmission is in - so when you put it in cruise control, you let the computer try and guess what the road is doing, then react to the varying road conditions. The cruise control on these trucks tries to keep a very tight leash on the speed and not vary a whole lot; my truck only lets the speed drop by maybe 2 MPH before it really gets in to it to push me back up to speed by using more throttle or downshifting. When towing, there's a lot more weight to move around, so the truck is even more aggressive and either dumps more fuel or down shifts (usually the latter), as those are the only two options the computer has to get more power.