Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Yo!

1st post here. I finally said goodbye to my 94 Dodge RAM 2500 and bought a 2012 base Tundra with only 20K miles -with the big motor, 4WD and full size bed. Yahoo! How sweet it is. But I can't see well to back it into tight spaces, or to line up the trailer hitch so I decided to install a backup camera. I used lots of information on this site, so this message is also a thank you to members who gone down this path before me. I thought I would post while it is all still fresh in my memory. Which totally sucks, because I'm 60 years old so by tomorrow I'll have forgotten most of it! (I also learned I am NOT as flexible and willing to contort myself into unusual positions as I was when I installed car stereo for a living in my late teens and early twenties!)

I first tried one of the wireless, mount-it-on-your-license-plate-frame systems. It worked, but - you don't see your own bumper/hitch which makes it worthless to me. I returned it. I ruled out the one that uses the factory harness due to both cost and some fear over a post I read here saying that the harness isn't actually connected to the one in the headliner on many 2012/2013 Tundras.

I finally settled on this camera:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DCRS89M/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and this monitor:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BHC7UTI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Installed it today. The mechanical installation of the camera was a breeze. I agree with a comment I learned here that the factory clip that holds the key lock into the housing is better than the one that came with the camera - I reused the factory one. Routed the wires down through the tailgate and through the hole right center below the tailgate into the underside of the truck.