Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So as if now i have a dual in/ out flowmaster super 40. Was thinking of an exhaust that ive only heard on one tundra and it was on the youtube. The exhaust im thinking of is SLP Loudmouth mufflers with an X pipe from Jegs. What do you guys think? I want louder then what i have now and im and not buying flowmaster again!:mad:

·
Registered
521 Posts
Do it! First time ive heard that and it sounds real good. Giving me thoughts cuz im losing way too much gas and low end power with no muffler.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Reactions: Mr. Creosote

·
Registered
7,282 Posts
you would want this type of X pipe:

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl...YsdPUfqpIsXfyAHorYFY&ved=0CDgQ9QEwAQ&dur=1400

not this type:

http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl...=YsdPUfqpIsXfyAHorYFY&ved=0CEUQ9QEwBQ&dur=658

The first type "allows" the 2 banks of exhaust to equalize and actually cross flow to the bank which has least pressure. The second type constantly "forces" the 2 banks together instead of "allowing" them to equalize depending on pressure.

Problem with the first type (pic above) is that the internal cut out is as large as the width of the tubing. It's much better at not "forcing" the 2 banks together than the second pic above, but still not as good as if you just cut small slits in each 90 before welding them together. When small slits are cut at the X over not only do you get more flow/velocity before and after the X, the sound is different too. It's more 'race car' toned. Where it sounds like it's turning 50% more revs. so at 3000rpm it sounds like it's turning 4500rpm. And the top end hp doesn't fall on it's face as bad, basically it helps with low end torque and top end hp.