Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Well I did it and officially am a Tundra owner now. I have been researching and looking for one for a few months now and finally everything fell into place for me. I am 40 with wifey and 2 kids (11,4) and have never had a truck before. Last two vehicles have been chevy tahoes. Loved them, great people movers with lots of bells and whistles but recently got a travel trailer and that pushed me over the edge.

I originally started looking at double cabs, but then fell in love with crewmax, I will use the interior space more than bed. My must list was basically 2010 or newer, 4wd, crewmax, mag grey, sky silver, or super white. I was flexible on trim packages, but wanted something that looked tough and not a grandpa truck.

I didn't like the rock warriors at first because I thought I needed power seats and didn't love the 17inch rims. But then I really didn't like all the chrome on other trims or ugly stock rims.

So after countless email and internet negotiations I pulled the trigger yesterday. Luckily I live in Northern Cali and have lots of local dealerships. My truck is a 2011 Crewmax RockWarrior 4wd with 23k miles. Has sidesteps, drop in bedliner, backup in rear view and all other basic stuff. I LOVE it. I thought my tahoe had some umpphhh. This thing is a beast. I can't wait to feel the difference towing.

Mods are already coming. Truck in shop today for leveling kit. Going with spacers to raise 2 in front. My only concern is that the wheels are going to look too small in there. But I don't have extra dough to fix that now. So they will stay. Also taking off rock warrior decal tonight. Funny thing is, those two mods were mandatory per wifey.