Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have never used Lucas oil products. What do you think of the Lucas Oil Products Pure Synthetic Oil Stabilizer?

Thanks

·
Registered
326 Posts
From what I have been told, it is supposed to be pretty good stuff. One of the better oil additives on the market. This has been by several people, including friends who work in shops, who are not necessarily trying to sell me something. So I tend to trust their opinion. However, I don't see much need for it or any additive, if you do regular maintenance with quality products to begin with.

My personal experience with it... I was using it with oil changes in my previous truck, and noticed no difference good or bad. I only had that truck 2.5 years though. Other than that, We used lucas oil additives on an old shop truck that was in pretty bad shape back when I worked in a shop in high school. Some fresh gas, oil change, new plugs, half azz throttle body cleaning, and of course some lucas additives and truck seemed to run just well enough. I couldn't tell you what it was that helped or if it was a combo of all, but something worked. That old F-150 just would not give up, and it got treated like crap.

·
Spooge Guzzler
6,318 Posts
However, I don't see much need for it or any additive, if you do regular maintenance with quality products to begin with.
And that's all that needs to be said.
Additives and all that autozone snake oil crap is the same as "extra" gun laws every time something goes wrong.
Feel-good horseshit to make you feel like you did something, because you don't know how things actually work or how to do it right in the first place.

·
Registered
2,089 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I would ask why you feel the need to “stabilize” your oil... What makes you think it’s unstable?
Its a marketing name. If you could sell the same product under a similar name for large profit, you'd do the same thing.