Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, this is my first post as I just discovered these forums when seeking information on a possible truck purchase.
First - I hope I posted this in the correct place!

A little info: I have been leasing a 2018 SR5 Tundra for the past 3 years, and absolutely loved it. It is mainly used to tow our 6K lb camper all over the USA. Unfortunately, I am not able to afford to purchase this off lease, but would love to stay in the Tundra family. I have found a 2008 Tundra (specs in post title) with 85K miles for sale for $20K. I am a little leery of buying a 12 year old vehicle, but the mileage and price seem fairly decent for my current budget. I am also looking at similar spec F150 that is about $2K cheaper.

What do you all think about the possibility of a vehicle of this age and layout as a primary tow vehicle? Should I be concerned about the age, or not really because it is still a Tundra and they seem to last forever and hold their value tremendously?

Thank you for any advice on this!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Buy one with manual 4x4 shifter. Problem is they don't have those any more. Lot of problems with actuator or 4x4 switch on dash. 2015 crewmax 89k

·
Registered
867 Posts
It is one of the best year Tundra's in terms of build quality and reliability. The engine is great. As long as it was maintained decently it should still be very strong. See if it's been checked for underbody/frame rust as part of the recall and if it passed...

·
Registered
492 Posts
I think some of the 07-09 had some kind of issue with the (don't know what it is called) exhaust pump that injects exhaust back into the cylinders. If it did not have that issue, or if it was repaired all is good. That is a low mileage truck, is that a 4x4? Two door cab? Toyota made those back then. As long as all checks out I would not be afraid of a 85,000 mile tundra.

·
Registered
55 Posts