Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a contractor my Tundra 5.7 can sit for long periods idling. Sometimes up to 12 hours at remote sites. Is there any potential of long term impacts? I run full synthetic Mobil1 and do my changes at 10,000kms. TIA

·
Registered
243 Posts
Everyone says idling is bad, but "everyone" has very little evidence - mostly theories/heresy. I've never heard of a Tundra dying from idling. I think the engine hours vs mileage for oil changes is a good idea (@Labdoc9).

I believe there exists a calculation for hours to miles somewhere on the interwebs...

·
Registered
326 Posts
Ford equates 5,000 mile intervals with 200 hour intervals in some of their manuals. given the Tundras 10,000 oil change, 400 hours of run time should be sufficient for oil changes.

I don't mean to sound ignorant, but why would you leave your truck idling for 12 hours..? is it a temp thing? I always thought that was more of a diesel issue, with not turning them off so they restart.

The way I see it is idling is still run time, and needs to be treated as such when calculation maintenance intervals. I don't see how it is any worse than the engine being under load. I think it just goes unaccounted for, and adds to engine wear without people adding maintenance.

Reactions: UNTMatt

·
Registered
467 Posts
If you're idling that much, you need to do maintenance on a much tighter interval schedule. Oil changes could easily be every 30 days. You'll need to do some research on sorting that out.

--Matt

·
Premium Member
316 Posts
Back in the 80's I ruined an engine in a car my folks had by forgetting to shut it off. Was in a driveway, 120 F, Arizona. Overheated and seized up.

The references to prolonged idling I can find talk about the dangers of not reaching operating temp and going over temp. Both have their dangers. The same holds for oil pressure, mainly, the damage done by under pressure.