Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to TT i have a 2007 limited toyota tundra crewmax 4x2 and I have always wanted to have a beast of a truck!! Im trying to decide on what kind of lift to get and whats a good size. I know its not a 4x4 so i cant do as much off road as i would like but i still would love to have that beastly appearance. Any suggestions? I have been looking at different videos online and 6" lift kits look nice and i saw a 10" that was just a monster but i know that the higher i go the bigger the tires the lower the MPG. I gave up on MPG really when i purchased the truck in the first place since I knew it wouldnt be anything like a car.

·
Registered
701 Posts
For a 4x2 I'd look into CST Spindles, UCA's and OME coil overs to set you 6-8" in the front depending on which OME's you get. For the rear a set of Coachbuilder's shackles and either new springs or a block.

Lifting a 4x2 there are much better options than the box kits that us 4x4 guys have to go with. The biggest advantage to the setup I mentioned is that you wouldn't have to have the drop bracket in the front that comes with box kits.

As for tire size vs MPG I was stunned. I went from a 34.5x11" Trail Grappler to a 37x14" Terra Grappler (7" lift since it was new). My MPG is actually marginally better now than before. The M/T tires effected my MPG worse than larger diameter A/T. I am consistently averaging 13+ MPG now. My last tank was 13.93. I was rarely breaking 13 mpg before. Just food for thought. In sure some wouldn't believe those number but I have ever mile and every gallon recorded front this truck. I wouldn't believe it otherwise.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·