Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2014 Tundra SR5(all stock) with 108k miles.
I had worn 275/65/18 BF Goodrich P Tires and I was looking for a better ride.
I decided on the Michelin Defender M/S and had my regional tire chain do the work.
Replaced all 4 tires along with a 4-wheel alignment.

Truck drives a lot smoother with the Defenders but now I have a new issue.
I am feeling movement in the wheel over bumps-didn't have this before the tire change.
I can feel this at highway speed and at slow speed like idling thru an alley with lots of potholes.
It feels like metal-on-metal and it transfers right thru to the steering wheel.

I took the Truck back to the Tire Store, they put it up on the rack and they double checked everything.
Ball Joints are good, stabilizer/sway bars are good. They rebalanced the Front Tires and told me to call
them back if there is still an issue.

I can still feel it. This is my first time on Michelins. Do I chalk this up to these tires being a softer rubber?
This is my 3rd Tundra over 15 years. I've done a few rounds of tire changes but never had to go back to the tire store.

·
Registered
66 Posts
If the problem started with the new tires, its the tires. Most tire stores will let you return tires for x amount of time or miles. Read the fine print. I would give them another chance to find the problem, they wont want to eat a set of tires.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I have down the issue.
I have the truck running and in Park. Turn the wheel rapidly back and forth several times and get the same clunking sound.

Seems like it is coming from the Driver's Side Front Tire. Something is loose, same as going over bumps.

Any Thoughts?

·
Registered
58 Posts