Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete newb at audio systems. Just installed some polk db651s in the front and rear doors of my crewmax. Now I'm looking for some advice/recommendations for a decent amp to go with the stock head unit and some dash speakers. I don't plan on installing a sub or aftermarket H/U. Trying to keep the stock look and on a budget. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
76 Posts
How does it sound? Most would recommend starting with replacing the HU before the speakers. Do you have the JBL or non-JBL stock system?

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have the non JBl audio. There is some slight improvement with the new speakers, but not as much as I was hoping for. I did use dynamat and ensolite on the doors. Is there a budget amp out there that would work? thinking of running the door speakers on the amp and the dash speakers on the stock hu.

·
Registered
1,009 Posts
Don't replace the head unit unless you need features it doesn't have, a good 4 channel amp will make a ton of difference. I would suggest an audio control lc6 for a good line output converter between the factory head unit and the amp, unless your also going to run subs at some point the. You'll want the lc7i because it has the acubass feature.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
333 Posts
I have the Boston Acoustics GT4100 and I am more than happy with it. It's overkill for the Polks but that that GT475 is a smoking deal at that price and will leave room power-wise for a later upgrade to components if you want to.

·
Registered
13,893 Posts
Reactions: tho98027

·
Registered
1,009 Posts

·
Registered
408 Posts
T600-4 Rockford Fosgate amp is a MUST !!! I have a Rockford Fosgate Tweeter Component if you're interest. I paid $120 for these tweeter for the dash but end up not using it. PM if interest

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·