Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so we all want a CAI or colder air to enter through our air box etc. I know this question is probably dumb and has been asked before, but why not run an a/c line to the air box? To me this makes as Much since as ram air by turning up your a/c on cold and wide open and allowing a blast of coldnair into the engine but idk if this is even possible or logical,.

Reactions: Mr. Creosote

·
Cereal Killer
20,307 Posts
I have no experience with it myself but others have given positive comments.

·
Spooge Guzzler
6,318 Posts
Would you gain enough to offset the power lost running the A/C compressor? :dunno:
No.
For the amount of work, time, money and aggravation it would take for something like this, just to end up with a system that does nothing for performance and adds about 100 new variables for mechanical failure, you're better off having a factory supercharger installed.
Significant gains, simple tech and warrantied. Done, done and done.

·
Registered
925 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
No.
For the amount of work, time, money and aggravation it would take for something like this, just to end up with a system that does nothing for performance and adds about 100 new variables for mechanical failure, you're better off having a factory supercharger installed.
Significant gains, simple tech and warrantied. Done, done and done.
what if the company its self did this stock?

·
Registered
964 Posts
what if the company its self did this stock?
They wouldn't. It's a net loss on power. The compressor only runs when the a/c is on, otherwise it freewheels (albeit with a couple of pounds of mass). The power it takes to run the compressor far outweighs the potential power gains made by a little cold air going into the intake.

·
Registered
808 Posts