Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 08 DC and I don't really want to invest money into a system however I have some amps (elemental designs 4ch, JL 300/4, JL 500/1) just laying around that I could add to the truck.

Is it even worth the hassle and lost storage space on the factory HU and speakers? :confused:

·
Registered
13,893 Posts
I think that many are finding the post confusing...

I don't know where or what you are meaning by lost storage space on the factory h-u and speakers...

Are you meaning the space the amps take up or the space behind or under the seats a sub would take up or??? :scratchhead:

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess what I'm wondering is whether or not adding an amp to a stock stereo will make it sound better and what it will take to wire this to a factory headunit since I've never done that before. I've always had aftermarket HU's in the past.

·
Registered
232 Posts
it will definitely be better than stock. however, the cost of the LOC will pretty much get you a decent head unit, depending on your wants....

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What is an LOC?

I really don't want to add an HU to this truck.

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
LOC's are not that expensive....
unless you go with a high end one....

most amps already have a highfilter input...

a regular LOC should cost about $40ish...

you will need to run a remote wire, i ran mine from the cigarette lighter on the left side, as it is a switched power source....
Would you mind linking me to one? :D

·
Registered
621 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Are there any features I should look out for? Lots of reasonably priced ones on amazon.

·
Premium Member
501 Posts
I would be careful with just using a basic LOC.