Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am wanting to get some new tires because the stock ones look a little small on the truck. they are currently stock 265/65R17. The just look small. I don't want to get too crazy on size just something bigger to fill the wheel well and to just to even out the truck.

Anyway, I went to a tire place and they said they would suggest Baja Atr 285/70R17. Which looked like a nice tire. They said those would look good and fit on my truck with no problem.

I then went to another place to get another quote and they said the above tire was too big, that when I turn it would rub and drcrease my turn radius. They sugested 265/70R17 Sumitomo All Terrain. They said it would give me another inch in height. Just wondering your thoughts from fellow owners.

Again just looking for a bigger tire that will fit on my stock rims.
I have a 2006 Toyota Tundra limited double cab.

Again Im a rookie at this stuff so be kind.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,427 Posts
I do believe the 285's will rub. I had a 04 Access Cab and went with 265/70/17 Bridgestone Dueler Revo A/T's. Fantastic tire, on road and off. Premium traction in wet weather.

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
Have you had any confirmation on the 285's rubbing? I was going to put some on in the summer but if they will rub, i guess I will be buying a spacer.

·
Registered
222 Posts
I used to have a 2000 tundra, and I asked the guys at Discount Tire to try putting the 285's and they rubbed. So I got a set of 275/75's that worked great. BFG All Terrains, siped. They fit well, no rubbing, and amazing traction. Previously I had the Bridgestone Revos, mentioned above, and though they were great, I thought they wore quickly, and did not look as aggressive as the BFG's. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,426 Posts