Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can't seem to find a definitive answer for how many zerk fittingS there are on a 2014 4x4. I only found 4 so far. I'm just beginning to learn basic vehicle maintence so I don't know proper names for parts. I found 3 obvious ones at the main spider joints and one that was a bitch to get to closer to the transfer case.

I tried to Google search images bit could not find any diagrams that show the exact locations.

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
Sub. I'd like to know as well and at what interval should they be regreased.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Everything I found days to grease every 5k. I just can't seem to confirm how many there are. I heard everything from 4-8 zerks

·
Registered
1,665 Posts
There are FIVE on crew cabs. 2 on the front drive shaft and 3 on the back.

The 2 on the front are on the inside center of the U joint.
The 3 on the back are on the outside edge of each U joint. The "one" at the back of the tranny will also lube the spine.

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
Is there a spec of grease that should be used?

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
The three obvious zerks
The very front of the main drive shaft:

About the middle of the drive shaft:

Right in front of the rear differential.

To "retorque propeller shaft" (per manual)
Manual states torque is 59 for front shaft and 52 for rear shaft.

The two less obvious zerks
Here are photos of the two zerks for the front shaft...both are in the center of the spider joints. I was able to find an easy way to reach the rear zerk of the front shaft by coming in from the front passenger side.

Photo taken towards driver rear wheel from front passenger side:

Same photo, but with grease gun in place:

Photo of the front zerk of the front shaft:

Use NLGI No. 2 Lithium Grease

This is the kind of grease you need.

$3.99 at Harbor Freight

·
Registered
1,957 Posts
The three obvious zerks