1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Equipment,
08 tundra DC with 5.7
Helwig helper springs

So I’ve been camping now for about 3 years. We were pulling a 30’ TT that was around 7500 loajded. WD hitch worked well but truck still squatted a slight bit. I was ok with it though.

Fast forward to this year and due to some issues I sold the Camper and we quickly found another. Only problem is, IT HEAVY!

9200lbs empty. Around 10,300 loaded. Tounge weight is killer too at 1100lbs!

Ok ok so it’s a big trailer. Bigger truck is planned but not this year. Any time we will pull it farther than 20-30 miles it will be with my dads f350.

My standard pull is 20 minutes of 2 lane flat highway to the lake.

I added a class 5 hitch to handle the weight. I also bought a blue ox WD hitch with 1500lb bars.

The helwig springs do nothing for this setup and are coming off. They interfere with the class 5 braces anyway.

I’m contemplating doing the Firestone airbags

Is anyone else towing 10,000 occasionally?

Anyone have a trailer with excessive tounge weight that they pull?

I’ve pulled it once already. Truck has the power. Brakes work awesome on the trailer and all brake components are new on the truck.
Just wondering if anyone has anything that works well with the tundra for big trailers?

Well something other than “buy a bigger truck”. It’s planned at some point.

·
Premium Member
638 Posts
Looks like you've reached your truck's limit......

I pull around 8.5k when hauling tractor on utility trailer plus our 33' TT is around the same.

A 1/2 ton chassis and it handling characteristics as all vehicles have physical and legal limits.

That much weight will have a tendency to 'push' your rig around, so hope you get your new 3/4 ton rig soon for (Happy) New year's !:D;)

on edit: it is all about proper set up and although you are aware of being way over the limit it happens waaaay to frequently regardless of truck used....