Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

2wd to 4wd?

4K views 19 replies 15 participants last post by  2wdTundra 
#1 ·
hey, im pretty new to this sight and my truck, but i was wandering if its possible to do a 2wd to 4wd conversion on my 2003 tundra limited. I like to go mudding with my buddies, but it would be nice to have 4wd. if anyone has the parts list i might need, that would be great. thanks

#18 ·
Dare I ask what happened to the other two?

This post has been deleted
#9 ·
It has been done before, I copied a discussion from Facebook that he had explaining what he did.

Thanks everyone!. Nope no SAS for me 2wd conversion to 4wd is as crazy as i am going to get. That's what happens when somone tells you it CAN"T be done.....really???? HMMM Well its done and works like she came from toyota that way. Most people cant even tell. I really like all the rigs you guys/gals have, this place rocks!
October 23, 2012 at 9:23am · Unlike · 2

I have a friend who owns a wrecking yard, so he found me a wrecked 2003 4wd and I used parts from it. Front hubs had to be changed the 2wd ones don't have splines. I bought 2 rebuilt front axles and installed 4.88's in the front to match the rear that was already done. The trans was a plug and play from the donor truck, as was the front diff, driveshafts and trans crossmember. The 4x4 ecu plugged right in inside the truck as did the 4x4 switch panel. Once those 2 components were installed, I added the 4x4 fuse and all the lights started to flash.. The hardest parts was building 2 wire harnesses. 1 is from the plug behind the glove box to the transfercase, the other is from the plug behind e glovebox to the front diff. The 2wd engine ecu worked just fine, but I happened to have a 4wd ecu, so I used it. If I missed anything let me know. I have more

#10 ·