Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

201 - 219 of 219 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
I will be connecting under the seat. I need to know which harness to order to make the connection before the amp.


My wife has my truck so I can't confirm this. But do I need to order the female or male version of the autoharnesshouse harnesses to connect my DSP on the HU side (removing the factory amp)?
why connect at the head unit and run wires when you can just plug in under the seat?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Alright so tonight went to tackle this mod and to my surprise and disappoment there IS NO FACTORY AMP under my passenger seat. Talk about major buzz kill. Now before you ask I have a 2015 SR Double Cab. My only solution that I can figure out to add an amp would be to tap into the harness on the back of the head unit. Can any of you audio gurus help me out here. What harness supplies audio signal to the speakers from the head unit? Does that also supply power? My plan is to just take the harness that holds audio signal and power and split it and running the power back to the head unit and the audio signal to a LOC then to my aftermarket amp and speaker signal out from my amp to the factory speakers. Thanks in advance.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
I ordered the female version (the one at the top of the page, Item #: 4438) and it is the correct set of harnesses to by-pass the factory amp under the seat. Thank you all for posting this. It will make my installation Sooo much easier and CLEANER!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
Okay, time for another dumb question. I bought the autoharnesshouse harnesses.

So I need to connect the "SIGNAL" wires listed in the first post coming out the factory harnesses and wire them to the corresponding AHH harness wires?

The "output to speaker" pins won't be used if I'm not using the factory amp... Right?

For example, on the factory J145 harness, pin is 10 is the Rear Right Signal (-) which I will connect to the rear right input (Purple with Black Stripe) on my AHH harness. Pin 11, which is the Rear Right Output to Speaker (-), I would not use since I'm not using the factory amp... Correct?

I just want to be sure before I go soldering/shrink-wrapping all these wires together.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Hi Guys,

I am the owner of a new 2017 Crewmax Entune Non-JBL truck, and I'm just catching up on this thread.

I have seen two pieces of conflicting information here and I'm wondering which is correct. One person says that the front audio to the under-seat amplifier is full range and that the amplifier low passes it to the front doors. Another person says that the head unit low passes the front audio to the amplifier. Any idea which is correct??

Thanks.

Michael
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
911 Posts
Hi Guys,

I am the owner of a new 2017 Crewmax Entune Non-JBL truck, and I'm just catching up on this thread.

I have seen two pieces of conflicting information here and I'm wondering which is correct. One person says that the front audio to the under-seat amplifier is full range and that the amplifier low passes it to the front doors. Another person says that the head unit low passes the front audio to the amplifier. Any idea which is correct??

Thanks.

Michael
On my 2014 .. signal is FULL RANGE from the head unit to the amp. I believe it is that way for all years for the non-JBL trucks. JBL trucks I think may be a low pass signal. But, in your case, full range to the amp.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Thanks for your input. That is what I'm looking for, and hopefully it is the same on my 2017 non-JBL.

I'm putting in a re-curve unit and a 5 channel amp, and I want to retain the fader function from the head unit. If the front signal to the amp were to be low-passed, I'd have to derive the full range signal from the rear speakers, losing the fader function in the process.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Thanks for info, I've ordered a JBL system harness from Teech12Volt.com, don't know if there is any difference between your method and using just one harness?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I dug through this post, and really appreciate all the info that everyone has contributed. I don't see the answer to my question, so forgive me if I missed it!.

I installed an Alpine iLX-107 this last weekend. It honestly sounds like crap with the factory amp. I'd like to just bypass the amp and power my speakers with the Alpine head unit. Given the wiring color scheme posted in the first post, can I just splice input (i assume from head unit) to output to speakers under the passengers seat?

I am not sure how the front dash speakers are wired into the mix, so I wasn't sure if I'd blow up my Alpine with too low Ohm load if they're wired in series or parallel (excuse my ignorance).

I appreciate the help.

Jaye
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,002 Posts
I dug through this post, and really appreciate all the info that everyone has contributed. I don't see the answer to my question, so forgive me if I missed it!.

I installed an Alpine iLX-107 this last weekend. It honestly sounds like crap with the factory amp. I'd like to just bypass the amp and power my speakers with the Alpine head unit. Given the wiring color scheme posted in the first post, can I just splice input (i assume from head unit) to output to speakers under the passengers seat?

I am not sure how the front dash speakers are wired into the mix, so I wasn't sure if I'd blow up my Alpine with too low Ohm load if they're wired in series or parallel (excuse my ignorance).

I appreciate the help.

Jaye
You need to bypass/remove the factory amp.
I used this thread to make adapters and install mine.

I ran RCAs from my Kenwood HU to my Alpine PDX V-9.
I then did all speaker connections under the passengers seat.
My rear doors run off my the HU and the front doors and sub run off the Alpine amp.

You might consider adding a 5 channel amp, since you will eventfully want a sub.

You can splice your connections under the seat and run your speakers straight off your HU.
Or better yet, make the adapters described in this thread so you don't have to cut any stock wires.

As to the 3 dash speakers, they run straight off the stock HU.
They don't go thru the underseat amp.
So if you wired the front speakers in behind the HU, your dash speakers run off the HU.

My Focal 2 way front door speakers gave me great front stage imaging and I ended up disconnecting all 3 dash speakers.
I first had them connected to the HU, but they were too in your face compared to my new Focal front door components.
Problem was there was no way to fade the dash speakers from the front door speakers.

But if you just bypass your stock amp and connect all your front and rear speaker wires together, you should have no problem running your stock speakers with your new HU.
Only issues you may run into is the funky ohm properties of the stock speakers..

Hope that makes sense.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,002 Posts
I dug through this post, and really appreciate all the info that everyone has contributed. I don't see the answer to my question, so forgive me if I missed it!.

I installed an Alpine iLX-107 this last weekend. It honestly sounds like crap with the factory amp. I'd like to just bypass the amp and power my speakers with the Alpine head unit. Given the wiring color scheme posted in the first post, can I just splice input (i assume from head unit) to output to speakers under the passengers seat?

I am not sure how the front dash speakers are wired into the mix, so I wasn't sure if I'd blow up my Alpine with too low Ohm load if they're wired in series or parallel (excuse my ignorance).

I appreciate the help.

Jaye
Makes a premade factory amp wiring harness instead of making your own..

AutoHarnessHouse
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Ok guys need some help here. I installed my Kenwood HU and unplugged the factory amp. Connected all speakers to the harness on my HU, RCA outputs are correct on my HU and Amp. My speaker wires are ran from the harness on the HU to my 5 channel amp. I get no sound. Not even from the dash speakers. As soon as I plug in the factory Amp I get sound. So correct me if I’m wrong but should I run all 4 speaker wires straight the harness under the seat from my 5 channel amp using the wiring diagram provided in the first post? Or am I missing something? This is on a 2016 Tundra CM Non JBL unit.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,002 Posts
Ok guys need some help here. I installed my Kenwood HU and unplugged the factory amp. Connected all speakers to the harness on my HU, RCA outputs are correct on my HU and Amp. My speaker wires are ran from the harness on the HU to my 5 channel amp. I get no sound. Not even from the dash speakers. As soon as I plug in the factory Amp I get sound. So correct me if I’m wrong but should I run all 4 speaker wires straight the harness under the seat from my 5 channel amp using the wiring diagram provided in the first post? Or am I missing something? This is on a 2016 Tundra CM Non JBL unit.
Did you make your factory amp harness adapter or buy one already made?
So you are running RCAs from your HU to the amp and not using speaker level inputs on your amp, correct?
The oddest part of your post is that you're not getting any sound from your dash speakers since they run straight off the HU.
Also odd that if you plug the factory amp in you get sound with the new HU.

I almost sounds like a JBL issue but you don't have JBL.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,002 Posts
On the headunit harness adapter I ran speaker wire from there to my amp. RCAs are running from head unit to amp.
I was referring to the factory amp wiring and the harness under the seat.
Essentially what this thread is about, making a harness to bypass the factory amp.

Are you sure the aftermarket amp is powering up?
I'm assuming you ran a line from the battery to power it.
What did you use as a remote to turn it on?

So you have RCAs from the HU to the amp.
How did you connect your amp to the door speakers?
Thru the factory amp harness, right?

If you're using RCA cables, why run speaker wire to the HU, is it for the dash speakers?
Are you running the front doors and the dash speakers off your front amp channels?

If you connected your new HU to the factory wiring, you should have sound out of the dash regardless of your amp, unless you rewired the dash speakers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Just ran some test wires from my 5 ch. to my factory amp harness. Every speaker including the dash in ran through it. Any help to bypass this would be greatly appreciated.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,002 Posts
Just ran some test wires from my 5 ch. to my factory amp harness. Every speaker including the dash in ran through it. Any help to bypass this would be greatly appreciated.
So you can produce sound to every speaker in the truck from the underseat amp harness thru the amp speaker output?

I guess I'm not clear on what your issue is.
Since you won't answer my questions, I give up.

Good luck to you..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I think I am figuring it out. I didn’t have the speaker output wires from the HU connected to the adapter harness instead I ran speaker wire from the adapter harness to the amp. So my bad had to go through and double check everything.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
438 Posts
I think I am figuring it out. I didn’t have the speaker output wires from the HU connected to the adapter harness instead I ran speaker wire from the adapter harness to the amp. So my bad had to go through and double check everything.
Glad you are figuring it out. I just did this upgrade but with my factory HU.
I Couldnt have done it without the help of @1lowlife.

At least acknowledge the help he has provided.
 
201 - 219 of 219 Posts
Top