Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My timing chain tensioner is starting to make more noise lately. Its getting to that time to replace it. I tried searching for a dyi or something close but couldn't find anything. Can someone shoot me in the right direction? I'm a heavy duty diesel mechanic so I can turn a wrench but I've never done anything engine wise on my tundra.
I've seen pics of the front cover off. Does the chain need to be pulled off to replace the tensioner? I wouldn't think it would have to. If it does can you mark the chaing and the pullies so you don't have to time anything? While I'm doing it should I do the chain guides and anything else? Is there a kit that I could buy? I'd appreciate all the help I can get. TIA!

Here is the parts list for my 2008 5.7 Tundra. You should make sure these parts will work for your truck.

1 EACH - 13540-0S020 TENSIONER
1 EACH - 11213-0S010 CYLINDER GASKET
1 EACH - 11214-0S010 CYLINDER GASKET
8 EACH - 11193-70010 SPARK PLUG GASKETS
1 EACH - 90311-A0005 TYPE T OIL SEAL
2 EACH - 16341-38030 WATER OUTLET GASKET
1 EACH - 90301-A0032 ORING
1 EACH - 15193-0S010 OIL PUMP GASKET
4 EACH - 11159-0P010 CAMSHAFT GASKET
4 EACH - 11159-0S010 CAMSHAFT GASKET
2 EACH - 96721-24025 ORING
1 EACH - 90301-A0033 ORING
4 EACH - 90430-A0001 GASKET
THREEBOND 1207B

·
Premium Member
1,021 Posts
Since you are a tech, I’ll just give you basic instructions.
Remove radiator, valve covers, unbolt all accessories off the front, remove timing cover.
There are 4 tensioners there, the one that I’ve always seen fail is the primary chain tensioner on the driver side.
You can confirm that is the one by removing the oil filler tube and looking inside to see if the plunger on the tensioner is flopping back and forth.
You can just replace the failed tensioner, nothing else really goes wrong with that system otherwise as far as guides etc.