Best early Gen 2 setup for general towing - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Best early Gen 2 setup for general towing

Hi all,

Newbie here.

Need to buy my first Tundra to tow my 7k lb boat. I've been reading up on what to look for, but I am curious to know what is the best configuration for the 2007-2012 model years (to fit my budget) to max my towing capacity/flexibility.

It's just me and my dog and my junk. Oh, and my boat. I will use it as an occasional boat hauler in New England and as my winter beater. Don't need to load up the bed every day with Home Depot finds or bags of cement. Who knows, at some point, I may want to tow a small camper, have a light popup trailer, tow grinch sled, or put a whatsamajoosit in the bed...so I want to make sure I am getting the best 'size' from the get go.

From what I have gathered here, it seems like a 5.7L Double Cab, standard bed has the best tow capacity and payload (given I don't need a ton of cabin space). But I don't know if any of the trims make a serious dent in tow capacity, payload or reliability. Also, if there are any years (within the early Gen 2 years) that had upgrades that greatly increase either the tow capacity or the reliability, I would love to hear about it.

I'm looking on Craigslist (and out of state, since I want a southern truck with very limited/no salt exposure) so I just want to know where to focus my search.

I have a good trailer with brakes...so I'm less worried about the towing itself, just really want the Tundra guidance on which year, model and trim is the best to maximize towing.

Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 08:10 PM

Quoted: 7 Post(s)