User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Oil change help.

Getting ready to change the oil in my 17 5.6L CrewMax. The last 2 time I changed the oil I mad one hell of a mess. How do you keep the oil from hitting the oil pan and spraying out all over the place? I've been changing my own oil for 30 years now and have never seen oil come out of there like it does with the tundra. Is there a different pan for collecting oil I should use? Is there some sort of shield for the passenger wheel? Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-05-2019, 07:40 PM
Premium Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Garage
You and me both. I hold the pan up high to the drain plug to try and minimize splashing. So much oil comes out so quickly my pan cant even drain into the sump as it fills.

Sent from my Commodore 64 with cassette tape backup.
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 07:21 AM

Quoted: 62 Post(s)
I've come back to changing my own after many years of taking the vehicles to oil change places. Been doing my own again for about seven years; first on my 2000 Tundra with the 4.7L, and now on my 2015 with the 5.7L.

I agree that the design of the Tundras makes it a messy job. I never was able to get the oil filter off on my 2000 without getting old oil puddling on top of the skid plate and then dripping onto the garage floor/driveway. On my 2015, I had to adjust how I was doing things to make it reasonably efficient and clean.

First, I have a large sheet metal pan I slide under the truck to catch errant drips that don't end up the drain pan.