LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-19-2018, 07:52 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
First Time Truck Buyer!

Hey everyone,
I've been following this site for so long and finally just decided it was time to become a member because I'm getting closer and closer to actually buying the truck. I'm looking at the 1st Get Tundras (anywhere from 2000-2006 unless there were significant improvements between certain years). It seems like this is easily the best value for the money as far as reliable used trucks go. I just had a few questions that can hopefully be answered by others on here who have experience or advice before I buy one, anything is helpful and appreciated, thanks in advance and I apologize for the long post, I tried to keep it short!

A few things to consider...
-I'm a college student also paying for tuition so my budget is pretty limited (about 9-10k right now but I'm going to continue to put money away to mod this truck)
-This truck is going to be my daily driver and also weekend/freetime adventure car and needs to last a solid 2-4 more years
-2WD vs 4WD doesn't matter to me at all considering the type of off roading I plan to do, I'm indifferent either way

My three main concerns/questions are mileage, suspension for my specific off road plans, and typical maintenance I need to expect.

--- For mileage, it seems like there are plenty of Tundras at reasonable prices, but they're all in the 150-200k mile range. Is that a problem? Or if the seller has records and receipts etc and since its a Toyota that shouldn't matter much?