what gear/speed do you use while towing? - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 12:31 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
what gear/speed do you use while towing?

im expecting my new 24' jayco x213 hybrid(4,200 lbs. dry) around the first week of june. i am new to towing and never had any kind of camper before. i just picked up a new 2011' crewmax 4x4 trd package as a tow vehicle.

now my question is this??..the dealer told me to just press the tow/haul mode button while towing. but i see folks on this website talking about how they tow better in 4th or 5th gear??

besides, pressing the tow/haul mode, are you supposed to manually shift the truck in sport mode? or just leave it in drive?

thanks in advance for your tips/info!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 12:44 AM
Ian

I see you're as new to this forum as I am but RTFM. Will do yo well. Or google search is your friend.
#3 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 12:50 AM

Thanked 2,761 Times in 1,489 Posts
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
when i haul alot of weight in the bed (1900+) i usually tend to keep it in 4th or 5th on the highway depending on how fast i am going. 60 is the norm with a load that heavy so usually 5 gear when cruising and 4 when i start breaking. in the city i keep it in 3rd or 4th and downshift to help stop. trick with towing and hauling isnt how to accelerate trust me the 5.7 will still haul ass no matter how heavy the item is youre pulling, its stopping where you need to shift.

Gabe
Cute Raptor Bro
#4 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 01:16 AM

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I see you're as new to this forum as I am but RTFM. Will do yo well. Or google search is your friend.

what does rtfm mean?
#5 (permalink) Old 05-14-2011, 01:18 AM

(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by azguy View Post
what does rtfm mean?