User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2008, 03:06 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cool Tongue Weight & GVWR

I am a newbie here so I hope this hasn't been discussed before. I have read through several threads going back several months and didn't find it...so here goes.

We bought a 2008 Fleetwood Prowler 5th Wheel, 30 ft, 6938 lbs with a tongue weight of 1422 lbs. We will pull it with our 2007 Tundra double cab, 5.7 L DOHC 32V iForce V8, 381 HP/401 LBs. The Tundra is rated to pull upto 10,300 lbs. and it has the tow package on it.

The GVWR is 6,900 lbs with a payload of 1680 on the window sticker and lower according to the GVWR (6900) - curb weight (5345) = 1555. According to the manual, the GVW includes passengers, cargo, luggage and tongue weight. With a tongue weight of 1422 lbs that leaves us a hundred pounds or so. I have been told that since our hitch is bolted to the frame the tongue weight does not figure into the payload capacity so I have no weight problem. But....that weight has to be figured in "somewhere". I am still putting 1422 lbs onto the Tundra somewhere. My neighbor mechanic told me this as did the mechanic at the Fleetwood dealer.

I would like some of your ideas and opinions about this. I think our GVWR will be over the limit...5345 + 1422 + 375 (people) = 7145 lbs at least. Hope this is as clear as mud.

Love this forum...very informative and helpful.

Bart
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2008, 06:42 PM
F&@k Y'all, I'm from Texas
Premium Member

Thanked 12,235 Times in 5,051 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)