Towing 2K miles with new truck - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 05:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Towing 2K miles with new truck

Hi,

I'm new to towing but have learned a lot recently after reading many of the post in this forum.

I have a 2017 CM with a 3/1 pro comp lift/level. The truck now has only about 1170 miles so technically it is "broken in" and good go to for towing.

I have not towed before but am considering traveling with a 24' trailer that is about 4k lbs dry. The trip is about 2500 miles round trip and there of course will be hills and probably pretty good ones at that.
Two passengers including myself and picking up a third when I get to Oregon (start in Arizona). And we will have an 80 pound Boxer.
Weight with us four mammals: about 730 pounds plus some luggage. Trip total: 2500 miles (that will triple what it on there now ); total days: 9 days; experience: none.

Exciting trip: possibly (pray in a good way).

My gut tells me that maybe I should not tow just yet since the truck is just barely broken in. Any thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-15-2017, 05:51 PM

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
OK, Who is feeding the Boxer? Good Grief. LOL

Advice: keep speed down, Enjoy the ride. Carry two (2) trailer spare tires. Never try to tow in 6th gear. Tranny will overheat. When you hit the grades, find a happy incline speed even if it 35 MPH all the way to the top. If your truck has E rated 10 ply tires, you don't need nearly as much air as people think. More air, rougher ride. There is a formula. Trailer tires? Air them up. No body riding in it anyway.

Safe travels.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2008 Tundra Crewmax Limited 4X4 Pyrite Mica