Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

TPS light on Dash blinking...

79K views 152 replies 51 participants last post by  will1668/ 
#1 ·
First things first, it's not low tire pressure! :banghead:

I just had my winter tires mounted on my limited wheels with new tire pressure sensors, and everything was fine until I get this warning light. Do I have to 'calibrate' them or something? I'm new to the TPS things and need some more info..

I also found the button under the dash, does this calibrate it? What do I do???

#30 ·
I have a 2007 Tundra. On my TechStream TPMS screen it has space for 5 IDs. I have an extra TPMS sensor to fit in my spare when I get around to it (I've only has it in the center console for 11 months :eek: ). I've not entered the code for it yet as I don't want the warning light on. Are you sure it only holds 4 IDs?

#3 ·
You have to program the new TPMS codes into the ECU. You will have to do that each time you change the wheels.

#4 ·
you mean the dealer has to do it :p

#7 · (Edited)
I installed the resistor string and diode. Less than $3 and no light...ever.
I cut the blue wire, installed the resistor/diode string to the blue wire with a butt conmnector, then used a 3M Scotch-Lock to connect the blue wire to the yellow wire that feeds voltage to the TPMS module. Based on input from dressed2kill, I need to clarify that the blue wire we cut is the lighter pale blue/green wire. There is a deeper blue wire present, but we are working with the pale blue-green wire. Thanks for the info, dressed2kill.

Here are BStevens' original pics from the thread on TS...

Here's a pic of the packages for the actual parts I used to complete this mod...

Attachments

#8 ·
I installed the resistor string and diode. Less than $3 and no light...ever.
Nice, BUT next year the TPMS becomes part of some state inspections. The light has to come on before the engine is started in order to pass. :(

#9 · (Edited)
Here is a quote from bstevens original post...