LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 07:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Super White Paint???

Short story, I had a ARE Z topper recently install on my 17 Super White CM Pro and due to it not fitting and being crack, I had to return the topper. When inspecting the truck I found scratches on both side of my truck. To my dismayed of the dealer having to rip the truck bed apart and paint it....I believe this the best route.
I'm a complete novice when it come to paint! Question is, in the dealer estimate break down it list "Clear Coat" as one of the step. I remember reading on here that the super white does not have clear coat. Is this true and is there a negative/positive to having it clear coated?....does Toyota have different process for their painting? Truck is scheduled to go in this coming Monday(20th). Greatly appreciate.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TundraChip.jpg (98.8 KB, 87 views)

TEAM TOP PIN
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 09:55 PM

Quoted: 33 Post(s)
I may be wrong but I body has a clear coat but the plastic parts like the grille surround does not

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-15-2017, 10:02 PM

Thanked 9,665 Times in 5,091 Posts
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Quoted: 1085 Post(s)
From what I have read...

The 202 black and the super white are a single process paint color.

Not base/clear.

Now, adding clear is actually a good thing.

If you get scratches, you have something to work with.

My 2010 was 202 black. It sucked for scratches. Any tiny scratch was in the paint instead of in the clear/barely in the paint.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I put the Laughter in Slaughter, and the Fun in funeral.
KTM 450xc QUAD, Baldwin head, Ti valves, 8/06 cam, motoworks, goldspeed tires...