User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 05:14 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Propeller Shaft re-Torque 4x4

PLEASE NOTE: This information is for a 2007-2012 Toyota Tundra, second generation, 4x4, and specifically for the model year 2012. I do not know if the 4x2's need to have their propeller shaft re-torqued.

I noticed some threads that listed Propeller shaft torque, but they truncated the part that told WHICH vehicle EXACTLY that they fit. So I did a two day subscription to Toyota Information Systems, printed out the pages, and scanned them in to a PDF.

The sort answer is that Toyota refers to the (rear) propeller shaft as the "propeller shaft" with drive shaft torque of 70NM or about 52ft lbs.

Toyota refers to the "front propeller shaft" as the "front propeller shaft" with a torque of 80NM or about 59 ft lbs.

Considering that the maintenance guide just says "re-torque the propeller shaft," I think that it might only be necessary to re-torque the "Propeller shaft" (rear propeller shaft) with no need to re-torque the "front propeller shaft." Someone please correct me if this is wrong.

Some people think all you need to do is "check" the torque. You cannot just "check" the torque without first taking at least some of the torque off of the fastener with a ratchet or breaker bar. If you use a torque wrench to "check the torque," without first releasing at some of the torque it will actually increase the torque beyond spec. Torque specs are only valid on a moving fastener.