Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

Upgraded 2011 with Pioneer NEX: Pros & Cons

7K views 29 replies 11 participants last post by  Tricon 
#1 ·
I've just finished installing a new Pioneer AVH-4200NEX with the Maestro interface and Metro dash kit into a 2011 Tundra DC with base audio system. The speakers are still all stock.

Since I'm a recording engineer, my main purpose for the install was to improve the fidelity of the system. I had read from several on this forum than just a HU upgrade would substantially improve the sound quality. I also feel that I'm a fairly good judge of audio fidelity from a stereo system, so take that into consideration with my opinions and results. Complete cost of the upgrade was about $700.

PROS:

-- Apple CarPlay is pretty awesome, so far.
-- 13-band EQ gives a little more flexibility than stock HU.
-- Volume output is better than stock HU.
-- Steering wheel controls were retained with the Maestro.
-- The aux input and USB also work, thanks to the Maestro.
-- OBD-II port is now integrated to the radio for gauges and alarms.

CONS:

-- Audio fidelity at normal listening volumes is not much greater, if any, than the stock HU.
-- Depending on the station, HD Radio was/is generally a disappointment.
-- Fingerprints on the screen are annoying.
-- The stock microphone wouldn't interface to this setup.
-- Satellite radio functionality was lost unless you get the optional tuner...but I don't use satellite radio, anyway (horrible fidelity).
-- Other than CarPlay and a few other neat features, it was a large expense for not much gain, if any, in audio fidelity.

I shouldn't be surprised in my results. Several years ago, I did a complete upgrade in a 2003 Nissan Pathfinder with all Alpine components, including HU and speakers, and I thought the stock, base Nissan system sounded better. ;) Oh, well.

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
I just put the 7200Nex in my 12 last week. Picked it up from BB for $825.

Did you put a small amp in?