Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

RTT talk

207K views 647 replies 64 participants last post by  Dragos28 
#1 ·
I am not completely sold on roof top tents. I have been eyeballing Four Wheel Campers for over a year now. However, in the interest of keeping my truck light and maneuverable (and save some $$$!), I feel like I should at least explore the RTT option.

This is not a RTT vs other campers thread. I would like to collect as much info as possible about RTTs and mounting systems for our trucks.

We are luckier than other vehicle platform as we don't have to worry so much about being top heavy. My preference is to mount over the bed like a lot of Tacomas do. What do you guys think is the best way to mount to the bed? The ots solutions like Thule are too expensive. Wood is too heavy. I'm left with custom fab (I prefer aluminum for weight) as I have not heard of any half rack being sold for the tundra. I would try and fab one myself (I am a hardware engineer by trade), but I cant weld so that really limits my ideas.

I have about $3k to work with total. I have no idea how much I'm gonna have to sink into the bed rack. But I also need to mount jerry cans and 2 full size spares. I'm thinking I need to integrate them into the rack somehow. But whatever I have left I can spend on the RTT.

Which RTTs have you guys heard good things about? If you have one (Craig!) let me know why you decided on it and which others you considered.

What problems have you experienced or anticipate? Positives?

Right now I am looking at the ARB tent, but I really just started my research.

See less See more
#2 ·
I don't get the RTT's. Seems like it would be a hassel to leave camp if you needed the truck to go somewhere :confused: Do you not want to set a tent up on the ground because of creepy crawlies? Bears?

#3 ·
We have been using ground tents for years. They work well.