Tailgate as a workbench - Page 2 - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
#16 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 09:53 AM
"Resident Liberal"
Premium Member
 
OkSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 10,886
Thanks: 1,063
Thanked 17,890 Times in 6,897 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyuk View Post
I built a 3,000 sq ft workshop myself earlier this year, and had next to nothing to put in it. A guy down the road from me buys trailer loads of their surplus stuff and sells them at the back of his car sales lot. I believe he pays 30c a loaded lb for it all, he slipped up and told me this, and I use this to get hiom way down on price.

I've filled the workshop for next to nothing. Along with that huge metal bench, I bought smaller welding tables, ESD benches, workbenches, filing cabinets, shelves, and 5 really awesome custom made rolling peg board systems (each has a 8 foot by 8 foot double sided pegboard with storage at the bottom that rolls on castors). I can move whole pegboards of tools around the workshop at ease. I also got a huge rolling toolbox for $600 that retails for $4,000 - its pretty cool as it still has the "Joint Strike Force" stickers on it, and originally had a layout of each tool it contained. One of the cabinets I bought was a little dented on one side, but I chose if over a better one because it has a really old school "Warning, do NOT store classified documents in this locker" sign on it. Its one of my favorite cabinets.
Other purchases include a autoclave I now use to powder coat small parts, a large HEPA shop vac, and other items I'm sure I forgot. With 3000 sq ft to fill I was his #1 customer for 3 months or so.
I'll post some pictures of all the stuff this weekend.
I have shop and tool envy. You are a kept man aren't you?

The voices in my head don't like you.

If you are a fan of fat girls, Dave Matthews CD's are better than a ham on a fishing pole.

Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.
H. L. Mencken


2008 RCSB 4.7 TRD Offroad 4x4
OkSlim is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OkSlim For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#17 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,398
Thanks: 1,210
Thanked 2,578 Times in 1,052 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
As promised some pics of the shop. I just finished wiring it, after building it earlier this year. Every outlet box has its own breaker (4 outlets per box). I lost count, but think I have 8 220v outlets, 48 110v outlets, and 16 110v outlets at 20 amp. Two weeks ago I added 108 four foot strip lights, that was a bitch hanging all those fixtures. I had to use 3 20amp circuits for the lights alone, even though the fixtures are the T4 low energy type. I've not fully moved in yet, so it is a mess and unorganized.

These are 360 panoramas:
South end
Click to view >>> 360 Panorama

North end:
Click to view >>> 360 Panorama

Here are some stills. Almost every bench and cabinet came from Lockheed Martin.

This 5ft by 15ft table is made of 1/4 inch steel. LM do not cut corners.

All these pegboard racks are on wheels and can be moved anywhere in the shop












Last edited by ponyuk; 12-23-2012 at 11:19 AM.
ponyuk is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ponyuk For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012), Remmy700P (05-30-2013), riccnick (12-27-2012)
#18 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 11:25 AM
"Thread Killer"
Premium Member
 
Dragos28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Califukual
Posts: 7,359
Thanks: 8,024
Thanked 11,601 Times in 5,030 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
WOW, i need a towel to wipe the drool from my face!
Thank you for sharing, the panoramic pics are really cool.

Personally, I really like the electrical-breaker install you talked about.
I just built my house a few years ago and did all the electrical wiring myself,
I put in a commercial breaker cabinet with 40 breaker slots. Pretty much did the same as you, but in my house, two breakers for each room, one for the lights one for the plugs. In the kitchen each major appliance has its own breaker, washer & dryer on its own, jaccuzzi tub on its own, 4 220 plugs just in case, on behind the stove incase i change from NG to electric, one behind the dryer, one for the AC & one outside for my welding.
I only have 1/2 an acre (in the city!) so i really dont have any room for a work shop, my workshop is in front of my sea-train.. but hopefully in the future I can buy some ranch property & have myself a nice workshop....



Can't Spell... Can't Type...
But I'm Going To Post Anyway!
Dragos28 is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dragos28 For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#19 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 11:58 AM
"Resident Liberal"
Premium Member
 
OkSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 10,886
Thanks: 1,063
Thanked 17,890 Times in 6,897 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Do you earn income from this shop?

I love it.

I couldn't have this. I couldn't sleep until it was cleaned up. I am still jealous.



Is that white tank with the red base a used motor oil heater?

The voices in my head don't like you.

If you are a fan of fat girls, Dave Matthews CD's are better than a ham on a fishing pole.

Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.
H. L. Mencken


2008 RCSB 4.7 TRD Offroad 4x4
OkSlim is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OkSlim For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#20 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Dim Sum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 3,019
Thanks: 1,822
Thanked 10,772 Times in 2,874 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
I wanna meet your tool sales friend. That's some nice stuff you have there, but ill never get to have that stuff until I'm done with the AF.

-Steve
2014 Ford F-350 SuperCrew Platinum Ruby Red Metalic 4x4 6.7 Powerstroke, BAK F-1
2012 VW Golf TDI 6MT
Dim Sum is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dim Sum For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#21 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 12:48 PM
"Resident Crackpot"
 
RRzxter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 5,564
Thanks: 314
Thanked 9,290 Times in 4,139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Dragos, you have a nice yard.
And you did a good job on the fence. Looks good.
RRzxter is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RRzxter For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#22 (permalink) Old 12-23-2012, 01:15 PM
"Thread Killer"
Premium Member
 
Dragos28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Califukual
Posts: 7,359
Thanks: 8,024
Thanked 11,601 Times in 5,030 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RRzxter View Post
Dragos, you have a nice yard.
And you did a good job on the fence. Looks good.
Thank you.
When i got the place it was dump... flat ground...
It was A LOT of work to get to where its at... but the reasoning is that I want my kid/kids friends with kids... etc to be able to play outside have shade and TONS of fruit trees (65 & adding) so there's always something to be picked & enjoyed..



Can't Spell... Can't Type...
But I'm Going To Post Anyway!
Dragos28 is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dragos28 For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-23-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#23 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 06:36 PM
"Resident Liberal"
Premium Member
 
OkSlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Tulsa,OK
Posts: 10,886
Thanks: 1,063
Thanked 17,890 Times in 6,897 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 466 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragos28 View Post
Thank you.
When i got the place it was dump... flat ground...
It was A LOT of work to get to where its at... but the reasoning is that I want my kid/kids friends with kids... etc to be able to play outside have shade and TONS of fruit trees (65 & adding) so there's always something to be picked & enjoyed..
Starting with a flat yard is easier than dealing with a sloped yard. My back yard is sloped pretty bad. Every time I do something, it changes the way the water drains and I have to make sure I plan for it and it isn't running towards the house.

The voices in my head don't like you.

If you are a fan of fat girls, Dave Matthews CD's are better than a ham on a fishing pole.

Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.
H. L. Mencken


2008 RCSB 4.7 TRD Offroad 4x4
OkSlim is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OkSlim For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-24-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#24 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 09:58 PM
"Thread Killer"
Premium Member
 
Dragos28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Califukual
Posts: 7,359
Thanks: 8,024
Thanked 11,601 Times in 5,030 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Mine has a slope from
North to south. Nothing major but if you look closely at the pics it is noticeable. This summer for my sons 1st bday party my wife bought one of those 20'x15' above ground pools for the kids to play in. Well after a week I decided to let all the water out the only way I knew how. I jumped on one wall and let all the water rush out. Idea was good but all thousand or so gallons went straight to my neighbors yard. Messed it up pretty bad.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App



Can't Spell... Can't Type...
But I'm Going To Post Anyway!
Dragos28 is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dragos28 For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-25-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#25 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
TRENT310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Whitecourt/Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 2,542
Thanks: 104
Thanked 1,173 Times in 668 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Interesting work with all that MC/BX armoured cable on that panelboard. I would have done EMT on everything even if it takes a bit longer.

I also notice the IP phone on that workbench. What does it register to? (that box above the UPS?) Are you using SIP/SPCP/SCCP?

2011 F-350SD - SRW XLT FX4 CCLB: 6.7L PSD, 6R140, 3.55:1 EL, Job 2 (Daily Driver)
With BDS 6" 4-Link & Rear Leafs, Fox 2.0 IFP, Toyo MT 38x13.50R18 on 18x9 Fuel D525, Bulletproof Prerunner Bumper, EGR/DPF/SCR delete.

1994 RAM 2500 - SLT Laramie 4x4 RCLB 5.9L 6BT NV4500 (Project)
2009 Tundra - SR5 4x2 RCLB 5.7L 4.30:1 (Sold)
Others: 1995 F-350HD DRW 4x2 CCFB 7.3L-T444E PSD // 2004 F-350SD SRW 4x4 CCLB 6.0L-VT365 PSD.
TRENT310 is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to TRENT310 For This Useful Post:
BigRed2007 (12-25-2012), dikkie (12-27-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012), ponyuk (12-27-2012)
#26 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Dim Sum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 3,019
Thanks: 1,822
Thanked 10,772 Times in 2,874 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Trent310 would go IT geek on us


I noticed the phone too but figured it was just sitting there

-Steve
2014 Ford F-350 SuperCrew Platinum Ruby Red Metalic 4x4 6.7 Powerstroke, BAK F-1
2012 VW Golf TDI 6MT
Dim Sum is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dim Sum For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-27-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#27 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 07:26 PM
"Resident Crackpot"
 
RRzxter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 5,564
Thanks: 314
Thanked 9,290 Times in 4,139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 579 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRENT310 View Post
Interesting work with all that MC/BX
Well, that's one way to describe it

RRzxter is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RRzxter For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-27-2012), Mr. Creosote (12-25-2012)
#28 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,398
Thanks: 1,210
Thanked 2,578 Times in 1,052 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRENT310 View Post
Interesting work with all that MC/BX armoured cable on that panelboard. I would have done EMT on everything even if it takes a bit longer.
It was down to cost. I would have had to run loads of EMT, or derate each circuit if I ran multiple hot wires in fewer conduits. The building is 40ft by 75ft. Getting 220v at 50/60 amp to the opposite corner from the panel is around 120 ft. It starts getting real expensive when you have to derate a cable because you have more than 4 hots in the EMT.
I did all the math, and by far the cheapest way to get all those circuits was MC.
The building was a bolt up, and at the end of each Z purlin are extra holes. Rather than compromise structure I fed MC through existing holes when possible. I'm going to panel it in, so its cosmetic that will be hid.



Quote:
Originally Posted by TRENT310 View Post
I also notice the IP phone on that workbench. What does it register to? (that box above the UPS?) Are you using SIP/SPCP/SCCP?
Wow. Good eye.

If you are not a nerd, its time to zone out and stop reading LOL.
I've got four two line SIP phones. One in the workshop, one in the ranch, one in my office, and one in the tack room in the stables. My PABX connects to PhonePower.com for the 'home' line. I have a Cobra PhoneLynx Bluetooth Cell to Home Phone Connection System to link a cell phone to my PABX for my 'work' line. I wanted a reliable work phone that wouldn't stop ringing if the internet was down. It has its drawbacks. The Cobra delays ringing for 2 seconds so it can get CID, the POTS interface for my PABX also pauses for 2 seconds to do the same. The net result is the cell phone rings for 4 seconds before the SIP phones ring. I could improve this, but I already had the Cobra and it works well enough.

The ranch, stables, workshop, and front gate (1000 ft from the house) are all connected via 5GHz 2x2 MIMO WiFi. I use this for the IP phones and also a 18 camera mega pixel IP based security system. I wrote an iPhone app that allows the wife and I to not only view the cameras (she especially likes the camera in each horse stall to check on her 'babies'), but also open the electric gates from the phone. If we are out and I get a delivery, I can open the gates, track them delivering the load, then close the gates as they leave.
All the ranch dogs wear electric hunting collars during the day. I have one channel reserved for my iPhone app. We had a dog that liked to sleep on the sofa if we left her. It took one shock with the collar from 50 miles away via the iPhone app to put an end to that.

Last edited by ponyuk; 12-27-2012 at 09:41 AM. Reason: who spell checked this $hit?
ponyuk is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ponyuk For This Useful Post:
BigRed2007 (12-27-2012), dikkie (12-27-2012), Remmy700P (05-30-2013)
#29 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
BigRed2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Peoples Socialist Republic of Kommiecticut
Posts: 1,753
Thanks: 3,658
Thanked 3,073 Times in 1,303 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyuk View Post

If you are not a nerd, its time to zone out and stop reading LOL.
I've got four two line SIP phones. One in the workshop, one in the ranch, one in my office, and one in the tack room in the stables. My PABX connects to PhonePower.com for the 'home' line. I have a Cobra PhoneLynx Bluetooth Cell to Home Phone Connection System to link a cell phone to my PABX for my 'work' line. I wanted a reliable work phone that wouldn't stop ringing if the internet was down. It has its drawbacks. The Cobra delays ringing for 2 seconds so it can get CID, the POTS interface for my PABX also pauses for 2 seconds to do the same. The next result is the cell phone rings for 4 seconds before the SIP phones ring. I could improve this, but I already had the Cobra and it works well enough.

The ranch, stables, workshop, and front gate (1000 ft from the house) are all connected via 5GHz 2x2 MIMO WiFi. I use this for the IP phones and also a 18 camera mega pixel IP based security system.
You speaka my lingo, senor!


Everyone Goes Home


FETC Founder, Member #1
Radiant Red Tundra Club Member #23
Tundra-With-A-Cap Member #21
New England Tundra Club Member #7
Save The Chrome Club Member #13
BigRed2007 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BigRed2007 For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-27-2012), ponyuk (12-27-2012)
#30 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 131
Thanks: 1
Thanked 157 Times in 81 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
WTF did he just say ??????
Thamzid is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Thamzid For This Useful Post:
dikkie (12-27-2012)
Reply

  TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum > Member Area > Off-Topic Discussion


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome