Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum banner

Advice on TRD Pro Hauling and Lift

864 views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  Lude Dude 
#1 ·
Friends,

I'm brand new to this whole forum thing, and also to my Tundra. I've had 3 Tacomas and finally got a Tundra. We went for the DC TRD Pro and I could use some advice:

(1) We plan to move back West this year and will be towing (3,000mi), probably about a 6x12' trailer. If I plan to load up the bed (I've got an ARE Cap) and tow, do I NEED to get airbags or anything to support the load? After this big 3,000mi trip, the only hauling we plan to do is mulch and dirt for gardening. I'm clueless on weight but I've read that these trucks don't carry loads well? I also saw the recent posts about the Roadmaster Active Suspension but read a lot of bad reviews. Do I NEED airbags for a tow like this? And for hauling dirt, mulch, etc?

(2) I'd like to get some 34-35" tires but don't want to replace the TRD suspension. What are my options for getting some lift? And how much do I need? I've read a little about Coachbuilder's shackles. Is that the best route? What about the front? And do these mess up any angles on the drivetrain? Or is there anything else I have to think about?

Thanks guys, much obliged. If there are already answers out there, I'd be helped even by just pointing me to the appropriate threads.

See less See more
#2 ·
#5 ·
Lee's Rig,

Thanks man. I was also thinking air is too much. I don't know how much to guestimate on weight, but I figure the TT and my bed will be full. We're moving, so we're talking books, clothes, kitchen stuff, a few desks, etc. Would you suggest Timbrens, or Roadmaster Active Suspension or Helwig Helper springs or something else? And is a WDH necessary?

Thanks again.

#6 ·