My Bilstein 5100 install - fronts - TundraTalk.net - Toyota Tundra Discussion Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 05-24-2009, 08:13 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cool My Bilstein 5100 install - fronts

Well I ventured into replacing my front struts yesterday and thought I'd share what I learned. I'm by no means a mechanic and would say the job is very much a DIY that can be done in a couple of hours if you know what you're doing. It took me 6... 5 of which was the first one. It's amazing how much better things go when you know what you're doing.

My truck is an 01 AC 4x4 TRD.

Some tidbits on what I learned:

- You need a strut (outside the spring) spring compressor to do the job.
- You don't really need to (or want to) disconnect the front stabilizer bar unless you absolutely have to. These are one-time use nuts and you can easily brake the cap and ball linkage at $95 a pop.
- DON'T release the spring compression (ie. remove the old shock from the spring assembly) until you've attached the spring compressor (you'll understand more as I explain it later).
- After you've completed one side, your truck will sit higher, you need to be able to jack it up higher on the other side.

OK, so here's the right way to do this, at least in my case.

1. Jack up and stabilize truck with jack stands (I like two) unleass you're working on some kind of lift. I used a trolly jack I got at Advance Auto sitting on a wide board for some additional height. You might want to loosen your front lugs before raising all the way off the ground.

2. Remove the wheel and move it out of the way. You might want to put a piece of plywood or ar tarp down to catch grease dripping.

3. You're going to remove the 3 #14 nuts at the top of the spring perch and the shoch bolt at the bottom of the shock (and that's really all), so give them a spray with some liquid wrench.